How I got into running..

As I’m sitting here, currently nursing a swollen knee after receiving my first running injury I thought that I would make my first ever blog.

After stating on twitter that I love reading everyone else’s blog’s, and that I was quite tempted to make one myself – I was sitting here on the sofa thinking why not? Why can’t I make my own blog, what’s to stop me? Nothing is the answer. So here it is..

This first post is all about how I got into running;

After catching illness after illness I thought to myself that I needed to change, as I was fed up with being ill all the time. So I signed up with my local gym. I went along for the induction with my best friend, and it was great. Later on my partner also signed up, and I’ve been going to all my gym sessions with him for support. 

I then thought that I needed something to train for, something to aim for. There it was, being advertised on the radio – them advertising places for Team Heart for the local Race for Life 5k event. So I decided to join up, with no running experience but I was determined to do it. 

This was all back in January, now in April I’ve signed up for my first half marathon that will take place in October around my city. I’m very excited to be taking part in my first two running events this year, and I’m really enjoying my training – and it doesn’t feel like training. 

If anybody says that they can’t run, I say give it a go. I didn’t think that I could, but after a lot of hard work and determination I’m there, and I don’t regret a single minute of it. 

Leave a comment